International Arrest Warrants in Ongoing Conflicts

The Legal Framework of Criminal Law Interventions by External Actors

The project analyzes the factual and legal implications of international arrest warrants issued during ongoing hostilities. It points out the potential conflicts between the various international obligations of external actors, especially the ICC, and attempts to reconcile these conflicts with the goals of criminal prosecution. Finally, the possibility of the reception of this norm conflict within the framework of the Rome Statute and the UN Charter will be analyzed.
Project category: Doctoral thesis
Organisational status: Individual research project
Project time frame: Beginning of project: 2008
End of project: 2013
Status of Project: completed
Project language(s): German
Legal system(s): International criminal law

Head(s) of project

The project takes a normative approach to the (regrettably) often termed “justice vs. peace dilemma,” better described as a conflict between the need (or will) to use criminal law to punish perpetrators of international crimes and the need to end hostilities, thus preventing combat and the commission of new crimes. The project aims to establish normative criteria (with a focus on public international law in general) to resolve the above-mentioned conflict where the political conditions impede the simultaneous pursuit of criminal prosecution and the implementation of peace agreements. The newly created International Criminal Court (ICC) will be the focus of the project since in two of the situations – Northern Uganda and Darfur (Sudan) – this conflict occurs, inter alia, due to the ongoing nature of the violence. The arrest warrants issued against the Ugandan rebel leader, Joseph Kony, and the sitting president of the Republic of Sudan, Omar Al-Bashir, are the source of contention in the current political and legal debate. One aim of the dissertation is to assess which international obligations are pertinent to the conflict arising from the issuance of these international arrest warrants. Even a cursory review of relevant sources reveals conflicting obligations and rights. On the one hand, international conventions (such as Art. IV Genocide Convention) and customary international law (e.g., punishment of crimes against humanity) set out an obligation or at least a right to punish the main perpetrators, while on the other hand, international law (especially the UN Charter, a number of human rights treaties, as well as the concept of “Responsibility to Protect”) favor the prevention of future crimes and hostilities.

The primary aim of the dissertation is to evaluate whether international law (either in abstracto or in concreto) favors one of these legal obligations or rights. Therefore, the project will focus on the concept of jus cogens and Article 103 of the UN Charter and will address the question of the legal relevance of the concept of “Responsibility to Protect” in order to determine whether there is a hierarchy of norms in international law and, if there is, whether the hierarchy is pertinent to the cases examined in the dissertation. It will also address other aspects of the theory of conflicts of norms.

Based on this analysis, the dissertation proceeds with the procedural consequences of the anticipated finding that there is no valid claim for the primacy of the criminal law approach in international law. For this reason, the project will address the concrete decisions that were and will be taken in the cases of Northern Uganda and Darfur (Sudan). It evaluates the possibilities de lege lata of the Office of the Prosecutor and the Pre Trial Chamber of the ICC to take into account the normative indicators when deciding if an arrest warrant should be issued (Art. 57 III (a) Rome Statute) or withdrawn or an investigation opened or closed (Art. 53 II (c), III (a)-(b) Rome Statute). It provides an analysis of the ability of the UN Security Council to act under Article 16 of the Rome Statute or even solely on the basis of Chapter VII of the UN Charter. The dissertation will conclude by addressing the legal consequences of the decisions for future national or international criminal proceedings (especially the doctrine of abuse of process) and will give a short overview on the feasibility of possible compromises.

For this purpose, international conventions, national and international jurisprudence, literature, and written media sources will be analyzed. This will be supplemented by an analysis of non-binding international documents and governmental statements in order to explore the content of the relevant customary international law based on a “modern positivist” approach.

Publications (selection)

  • Last update: 14 December 2017
  • Top

Internationale Haftbefehle in noch andauernden Konflikten

Rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen bei strafrechtlicher Intervention externer Akteure

Die Arbeit analysiert die tatsächlichen und rechtlichen Implikationen internationationaler Haftbefehle in Bezug auf andauernde Konflikte. Sie zeigt dabei die potentiell konträren völkerrechtlichen Verpflichtungen externer Akteure und insb. des ICC und versucht, diese mit dem Strafauftrag in Einklang zu bringen. Zudem werden die Möglichkeiten der Rezeption dieses Normkonfliktes im Rahmen des Rom-Statuts und der UN-Charta analysiert.
Projektkategorie: Dissertation
Organisatorischer Status: Einzelprojekt
Projektlaufzeit: Projektbeginn: 2008
Projektende: 2013
Projektstatus: abgeschlossen
Projektsprache(n): Deutsch
Rechtsordnung(en): Völker(straf)recht

Leitung

Die Dissertation untersucht aus normativer Sicht den unter dem ungenauen Schlagwort Frieden versus Gerechtigkeit bekannten Konflikt zwischen dem Ziel der Strafverfolgung von Völkerstraftätern und dem Ziel der Befriedung von Konfliktregionen zur Verhinderung kriegerischer Auseinandersetzungen und anderer Straftaten. Ein solcher Konflikt kann entstehen, wenn politische Rahmenbedingungen eine gleichzeitige Verwirklichung beider Ziele unmöglich machen. Die Tätigkeit des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs (IStGH) – neben den UN der relevanteste externe Akteur – ist dabei von zentraler Bedeutung, da durch die (erfolglosen) Haftbefehle gegen den ugandischen Rebellenchef Kony und den sudanesischen Präsidenten Bashir negative Auswirkungen auf Friedensprozesse zu verzeichnen sind. Wegen seiner Konsequenzen ist das Wirken des IStGH politisch und juristisch umstritten. Die juristische Auseinandersetzung ist dabei weitgehend (völker-)strafrechtsintern geblieben und wird der fragmentarischen Natur des Völkerrechts nicht immer ausreichend gerecht. Neben den völkerstrafrechtlichen Regelungen existieren potentiell gegenläufige Verpflichtungen. So befindet sich, zusätzlich zur UNCharta und den Menschenrechtsverträgen, mit der "Responsibility to Protect" ein weiteres verstärkt präventiv ausgerichtetes (Gewohnheits-) Rechtsregime in der Entstehung. Neben dem praktisch-politischen Zielkonflikt zeichnet sich somit ein Normenkonflikt ab, der den Handlungsspielraum für strafrechtliche Interventionen verschiedener externer Akteure prägt.

Erstes Ziel der Dissertation ist es daher, festzustellen, ob ein derartiger Normenkonflikt in Uganda und Sudan existent ist. Zweites Ziel ist es zu klären, ob das Völkerrecht einen Vorrang des strafrechtlichen Ansatzes proklamiert oder ob das Strafrecht im Kollisionsfall generell oder im Einzelfall zurückzutreten hat. Basierend auf der Annahme, dass der Normenkonflikt nur durch eine Einzelfallabwägung aufgelöst werden kann, ist es drittes Ziel der Arbeit zu erfassen, inwieweit eine Abwägung im Einzelfall durch den IStGH, den UN-Sicherheitsrat (UN-SR) und verfolgunswillige Drittstaaten verfahrensrechtlich möglich ist.

Die Dissertation basiert auf einer Norm-, Rechtsprechungs-, Literatur- und Presseanalyse. Sie wird ergänzt durch eine Untersuchung rechtlich unverbindlicher internationaler Dokumente und staatlicher Stellungnahmen, um – einem modern-positivistischen Ansatz folgend – den Umfang völkergewohnheitsrechtlicher Normen bestimmen zu können.

Zunächst wird die politische Situation in Nord-Uganda und im Sudan beschrieben, um in einem nächsten Schritt die Feststellung der einschlägigen Völkerrechtsnormen zu ermöglichen. Zur abschließenden Klärung der ersten Forschungsfrage wird überprüft, ob ein Normenkonflikt umgangen werden kann, indem alternative Konfliktlösungsmechanismen als Substitut der Strafverfolgung zum Einsatz gebracht werden. Dem schließt sich eine Analyse der Hierarchie im Völkerrecht und weiterer theoretischer Aspekte der Auflösung von Normenkonflikten an. Dann wendet sich die Arbeit den konkreten Entscheidungen zu. Es wird untersucht, ob die relevanten Organe des IStGH (Anklage und Vorverfahrenskammer) in den verschiedenen Stadien des Verfahrens die Möglichkeit haben, die normativen Erwägungen zu berücksichtigen (Art. 53 II (c), III (a)–(b), 57 III (a) Rom-Statut). Dabei wird insbesondere berücksichtigt, dass durch eine Veränderung der politischen Umstände eine Überprüfung bereits getroffener Entscheidungen notwendig sein könnte. Ebenfalls untersucht wird der rechtliche Handlungsspielraum des UN-SR gem. Art. 16 Rom-Statut und Kap. VII UN-Charta. Schließlich werden mögliche Auswirkungen auf zukünftige Verfahren und die politische Realisierbarkeit möglicher Kompromisslösungen dargelegt.

Publikationen (Auswahl)

  • Geändert am: 14.12.2017
  • Top