Extraterritorial Prosecution of Cybercrime

Cybercrime is a prototype of transnational crime. Hence, legislative responses to offenses in global data networks demonstrate quite clearly the attempts of nation states to overcome national boundaries through extraterritorial expansion of criminal law. This project reveals the limits of this approach: it is successful only in limited areas and specific cases and does not lead to a generally applicable model solution for the development of transnationally effective criminal law.
Project category: Research project
Organisational status: Sectional project
Project time frame: Beginning of project: 2005
End of project: 2006
Status of Project: completed
Project language(s): English
Legal system(s): Numerous legal systems worldwide
Structure: jurisdiction, international criminal law, locus delicti, criminal prosecution, Internet

Head(s) of project

Contributors / Researchers

  • Frank Michael Höfinger

The dissemination of data, interpersonal communication, and access to networked computer systems do not stop at national borders. This leads to transnational activities not only on the part of criminal offenders but also on the part of law enforcement agencies, which can respond internationally and beyond their own national borders. Two important jurisdictional problems result: The first concerns the problem of the extent to which a country – following the appropriate jurisdictional rules – can declare its national criminal law applicable beyond its own territory. The second poses the question of whether and how a country can conduct investigations in the global cyberspace beyond its own territory– in the form of simple observational measures or by means of online searches, for instance. Within the framework of a research project organized by the University of Tilburg, efforts were made to analyze the situation in different legal systems with respect to these two questions.

The goal of the contribution from the Freiburg Max Planck Institute was to analyze the application of German national criminal law to extraterritorial offenses. Here, problems arise in the context of the dissemination of illegal content if the content is accessible in many countries "with the click of a mouse." In Germany, as in most legal systems, the principle of territoriality is overriding. This principle, however, not only requires clarification in many areas, its practicability has also been seriously questioned. As the number of countries affected by a particular illegal activity increases, the danger of jurisdictional conflicts grows. The actor’s chance of foreseeing the risks of prosecution diminishes in equal measure, especially if the actor’s behavior is considered legal in his or her own legal system but is punishable in another legal system. This is especially true with regard to the dissemination of information in the Internet, as such information can be accessed worldwide. In addition, the scope of the jurisdictional authority of national law enforcement agencies threatens to become overextended unless the principle of territoriality is narrowly interpreted or the agencies are granted the discretionary authority to decide which Internet crimes to pursue and which not to. From the perspective of international law, as well, the exercise of penal authority is problematic if a "minimum contacts" requirement with the territory of the exercising agency is not satisfied.

The solution to this problem in German law is characterized by the principle of ubiquity, according to which an act is committed in the place at which the offender acted or at which the result laid down in the statutory definition of the offense occurred. In the meantime, a consensus has been reached that such a result can be understood not only in the sense of a result crime, but also as other kinds of outcomes if the outcome is covered by the statutory definition of the offense. In the case of Holocaust denial on a foreign server, the German Federal Supreme Court of Justice (Bundesgerichtshof) found it sufficient that the disputed information was capable of endangering the public peace in Germany. This resulted in a far-reaching extraterritorial application of German criminal law. Because this exercise of jurisdiction cannot, however, be enforced via commensurate investigative measures, it cannot lead to an effective model for transnationally effective criminal law. Thus, without harmonization of criminal law and an appropriate international law of cooperation, the problem cannot be resolved.

The English-language country report "Germany" by Ulrich Sieber was published along with the results of the entire project in: Bert-Jaap Koops/Susan W. Brenner (eds.), Cybercrime and Jurisdiction (The Hague, T. M. C. Asser Press, 2006) 183–210.

External Research Partners:

Prof. Susan W. Brenner, Prof. Dr. Roberto Chacon de Albuquerque, Prof. Noel Cox, Dr. Paul de Hert, Pavan Duggal, Dr. Vladimir Golubev, Barrie Gordon, Prof. Dr. Peter Grabosky, Jessica R. Herrera-Flannigan, Dr. Gus Hosein, Prof. Dr. Henrik W.K. Kaspersen, Prof. Dr. Bert-Jaap Koops, Prof. Dr. Jeong-Hoon Lee, Fernando Londoño, Prof. Pauline C. Reich, Henrik Spang-Hanssen, Dr. Gregor Urbas, Dr. Ian Walden, Dr. Martin Wasmeier, Prof. Dr. Giovanni Ziccardi, Rodrigo Zúñiga

Publications (selection)

  • Sieber, Ulrich: Cybercrime and Jurisdiction in Germany. The Present Situation and the Need for New Solutions.. In: Cybercrime and Jurisdiction/Bert-Jaap Koops (ed.), Susan W. Brenner. The Hague 2006, T. M. C. Asser Press, 183-210 .
  • Last update: 16 July 2015
  • Top

Extraterritoriale Strafverfolgung von Cybercrime

Cybercrime ist ein Prototyp der grenzüberschreitenden Kriminalität. Die Reaktionen auf diese Delikte in weltweiten Datennetzen zeigen deswegen besonders deutlich die Versuche der Nationalstaaten, die nationalen Grenzen durch eine extraterritoriale Ausdehnung des Strafrechts zu überwinden. Das Projekt macht die Grenzen eines solchen Ansatzes deutlich: Er ist nur in Einzelbereichen und Einzelfällen erfolgreich, führt jedoch zu keinem allgemeinen Lösungsmodell für die Entwicklung eines transnational wirksamen Strafrechts.
Projektkategorie: Forschungsprojekt
Organisatorischer Status: Referatsprojekt
Projektlaufzeit: Projektbeginn: 2005
Projektende: 2006
Projektstatus: abgeschlossen
Projektsprache(n): Englisch
Rechtsordnung(en): Zahlreiche Rechtsordnungen weltweit
Systematische Gliederungspunkte: Strafanwendungsrecht, internationales Strafrecht, Tatort, Strafverfolgung, Gerichtsbarkeit, Internet

Leitung

Mitarbeit

  • Frank Michael Höfinger

Forschungsgegenstand:

Die Verbreitung von Daten, die Kommunikation mit anderen Personen und der Zugriff auf vernetzte Computersysteme machen an Staatsgrenzen nicht Halt. Dies führt nicht nur zu grenzüberschreitenden Aktivitäten der Straftäter. Auch Strafverfolgungsbehörden können dadurch international und jenseits ihrer Staatsgrenzen agieren. Dabei stellen sich zwei rechtliche Probleme, die häufig mit dem englischen Begriff der "Jurisdiction" bezeichnet werden: Zum einen geht es um das Problem, inwieweit ein Staat sein nationales Strafrecht mit den entsprechenden Regelungen des Strafanwendungsrechts auch außerhalb seines Territoriums für anwendbar erklären kann. Zum andern stellt sich die Frage, ob und wie ein Staat im globalen Cyberspace außerhalb seines Hoheitsgebiets Ermittlungshandlungen vornehmen darf, z.B. in der Form von schlichten Beoachtungsmaßnahmen oder aber von online-Durchsuchungen. Im Rahmen eines von der Universität Tilburg organisierten Forschungsprojekts wurde versucht, zu diesen beiden Fragen die Rechtslage in verschiedenen Rechtsordnungen zu analysieren.

Ziel des Beitrags aus dem Freiburger Max-Planck-Institut war vor allem die Analyse des deutschen Strafanwendungsrechts. Probleme stellen sich hier vor allem bei der Verbreitung von illegalen Inhalten, wenn diese in zahlreichen Staaten "mit einem Mausklick" abgerufen werden können. In Deutschland gilt insoweit wie in den meisten Rechtsordnungen vorrangig das Territorialitätsprinzip. Dieses Prinzip ist jedoch nicht nur in vielen Einzelfragen klärungsbedürftig, es wird auch grundsätzlich unter dem Aspekt der Praktikabilität in Frage gestellt. Durch die Vervielfachung territorialer Anknüpfungspunkte wächst die Gefahr von Zuständigkeitskonflikten. Im gleichen Maße schwindet für den Handelnden die Möglichkeit, ihm drohende Strafverfolgungsrisiken vorherzusehen, insbesondere wenn sein Verhalten in seiner Heimatrechtsordnung als rechtmäßig bewertet und in einer anderen Rechtsordnung mit Strafe bedroht wird. Dies gilt vor allem für die Verbreitung von Informationen im Internet, die weltweit abrufbar sind. Hier droht zudem eine Überdehnung der Zuständigkeiten der nationalen Strafverfolgungsbehörden, wenn nicht das Territorialitätsprinzip restriktiv ausgelegt wird oder den Strafverfolgern Ermessensspielräume eröffnet werden, um nicht jede Internetstraftat verfolgen zu müssen. Auch völkerrechtlich ist die Beanspruchung von Strafgewalt ohne hinreichenden Bezug zur eigenen Rechtsordnung problematisch.

Die Lösung des Problems ist im deutschen Recht durch das "Ubiquitätsprinzip" gekennzeichnet, nach dem eine Tat an dem Ort begangen ist, an dem der Täter gehandelt hat oder an dem der zum Tatbestand gehörende Erfolg eingetreten ist. Dazu besteht inzwischen Einigkeit, dass ein derartiger Erfolg nicht nur im Sinne eines Erfolgsdelikts verstanden werden kann, sondern auch eine sonstige vom Tatbestand erfasste Folge einer Handlung. Für den Fall der Leugnung des Holocausts auf einem ausländischen Server hat der deutsche Bundesgerichtshof es ausreichen lassen, dass das umstrittene Informationsangebot geeignet war, den öffentlichen Frieden in Deutschland zu gefährden. Dies hatte eine weitreichende extraterritoriale Anwendung des deutschen Strafrechts zur Folge. Da dieser Geltungsanspruch jedoch nicht durch entsprechende Ermittlungsmaßnahmen durchgesetzt werden kann, führt dies nicht zu einem effektiven Modell für ein transnational wirksames Strafrecht. Ohne eine Strafrechtsharmonisierung und ein geeignetes zwischenstaatliches Kooperationsrecht lässt sich die Problematik daher nicht lösen.

Der englischsprachige Landesbericht "Deutschland" von Ulrich Sieber wurde mit den Ergebnissen des Gesamtprojekts veröffentlicht in: Bert-Jaap Koops/Susan W. Brenner (Hrsg.): Cybercrime and Jurisdiction. The Hague, T. M. C. Asser Press, 2006, S. 183-210.

Externe Kooperationspartner/-innen:

Prof. Susan W. Brenner, Prof. Dr. Roberto Chacon de Albuquerque, Prof. Noel Cox, Dr. Paul de Hert, Pavan Duggal, Dr. Vladimir Golubev, Barrie Gordon, Prof. Dr. Peter Grabosky, Jessica R. Herrera-Flannigan, Dr. Gus Hosein, Prof. Dr. Henrik W.K. Kaspersen, Prof. Dr. Bert-Jaap Koops, Prof. Dr. Jeong-Hoon Lee, Fernando Londoño, Prof. Pauline C. Reich, Henrik Spang-Hanssen, Dr. Gregor Urbas, Dr. Ian Walden, Dr. Martin Wasmeier, Prof. Dr. Giovanni Ziccardi, Rodrigo Zúñiga

Publikationen (Auswahl)

  • Sieber, Ulrich: Cybercrime and Jurisdiction in Germany. The Present Situation and the Need for New Solutions.. In: Cybercrime and Jurisdiction/Bert-Jaap Koops (Hrsg.), Susan W. Brenner. The Hague 2006, T. M. C. Asser Press, 183-210 .
  • Geändert am: 16.07.2015
  • Top