Departments

The Institute comprises two departments: the Department of Criminal Law, which is led by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Ulrich Sieber, and the Department of Criminology, which is headed by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Jörg Albrecht.

Criminal Law

Research in criminal law conducted at the Max Planck Institute since its founding has concentrated mainly on German and foreign criminal law and on international criminal law. Legal norms are interpreted on the basis of their historical, cultural, and social backgrounds and in light of case law. Approaches taken in the various legal systems with regard to current problems are compared, their advantages and disadvantages weighed against each other, and suggestions made and principles developed for the reform of existing law.

This work is conducted at the Institute in the Department of Criminal Law (headed by Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sieber). The Department is comprised of sections organized by country and topic. In the country sections, researchers monitor and analyze on a continuing basis the criminal law developments in their respective countries. Europe, for example, is studied in seven country sections. Some of these sections cover more than one country; some cover groups of countries (e.g., the section “Nordic countries” covers Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden).

The topical sections are responsible for investigating specific cross-national issues, also on a long-term basis. There are topical sections covering European criminal law, international criminal law, information law and legal informatics, and law and medicine. Individual questions that are the subject of intensive and systematic study are grouped together in such major project areas as cybercrime, criminal law in reaction to state crime, and national prosecution of international crimes.

Since Prof. Dr. Sieber’s arrival at the Institute, the research program of the Department of Criminal Law has pursued the three central challenges in the area of crime and the fight against crime that can be paraphrased with the key words “global society,” “information society,” and “new risk society.” Crime is becoming more global, and it increasingly makes use of international data networks; even individual cases of criminal activity can – via technology and organization – have significant consequences for an entire society.

Criminology

Criminology is the study of the manifestations of criminal acts and their causes. Researchers in this field strive to clarify those crimes that are not registered in official statistics, the so-called “dark area” of unreported or undiscovered crime, and investigate the willingness of the public – the most important source of information in criminal justice systems – to report criminal activity. The attitude of the general public towards crime and punishment is also analyzed. Futhermore, criminologists examine criminal sanctions and treatment methods and their influence on convicted persons and their families; they also evaluate the effect of the administration of penal justice on the public’s perception of law and justice. Finally, the study of the various instances of the criminal justice system (police, prosecution, judiciary, and prison authorities) and their relationship to the citizen plays a vital role in this discipline, regardless of whether the individual appears in the capacity of complainant, accused, convict, witness, injured party, or simply as a member of the public at large.

The Department of Criminology (under the direction of Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Albrecht) carries out this work. Its activities are not organized by country, but rather by project, because criminological phenomena usually require cross-national analysis. The research program concentrates on five focal points: "Criminal Procedure and Sanctions in Transition," "Dangerous Offenders," "Homeland Security, Organised Crime, and Terrorism – Societal Perceptions and Reactions," "Crime, Social Context, and Social Change," and "The Development of Criminal Policy and the Rule of Law in Transitional Societies."

  • Last update: 30 September 2016
  • Top

Abteilungen

Das Institut gliedert sich in zwei Abteilungen. Die strafrechtliche Forschungsabteilung wird von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Ulrich Sieber, die kriminologische von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Jörg Albrecht geleitet.

Strafrechtswissenschaft

Die Strafrechtswissenschaft am Max-Planck-Institut beschäftigt sich seit der Institutsgründung vor allem mit dem deutschen und ausländischen Strafrecht sowie dem internationalen Strafrecht (insbes. Völkerstrafrecht). Die entsprechenden Normen werden vor dem Hintergrund der geschichtlichen, kulturellen und sozialen Zusammenhänge in Auseinandersetzung mit der Rechtsprechung ausgelegt. Lösungen, welche die verschie­de­nen Rechtsordnungen für anstehende Probleme gefunden haben, werden sodann verglichen, Vor- und Nachteile werden abgewogen und Vorschläge und Grundsätze für die Reform des geltenden Rechts erarbeitet.

Diese Arbeit erfolgt am Institut in der strafrechtlichen Abteilung (Leitung: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sieber). Diese ist organisiert in Länder- und Sachreferate. In den Länderreferaten beobachten und analysieren die Referatsleiter und Landesreferenten kontinuierlich die strafrechtlichen Entwicklungen in den jeweiligen Ländern. Gegenwärtig wird etwa Europa alleine mit sieben Länderreferaten abgedeckt, die zum Teil nicht nur einzelne Länder, sondern ganze Ländergruppen (z.B. die nordischen Länder Dänemark, Finnland, Island, Norwegen und Schweden) bearbeiten.

Die Sachreferate nehmen sich – länderübergreifend – besonderen Problemstellungen an und bearbeiten diese kontinuierlich. So existieren etwa Referate zum europäischen Strafrecht, zum Völkerstrafrecht, zum Informationsrecht und der Rechtsinformatik sowie zum Medizinstrafrecht. Einzelne Fragestellungen, die besonders intensiv und systematisch erforscht werden sollen, werden in so genannten Projekten organisiert, z.B. zu den Themen "Cybercrime", "Strafrecht in Reaktion auf Systemunrecht" oder "Nationale Strafverfolgung völkerrechtlicher Verbrechen".

Das aktuelle Forschungsprogramm der strafrechtlichen Abteilung orientiert sich dabei seit der Amtsübernahme durch Prof. Dr. Sieber an den drei zentralen Herausforderungen im Bereich der Kriminalität und der Kriminalitätsbekämpfung, die mit den Begriffen "Weltgesellschaft", "Informationsgesellschaft" und "Neue Risikogesellschaft" schlagwortartig umschrieben werden können. Kriminalität wird globaler, sie nutzt dabei zunehmend internationale Datennetze; ihre Auswirkungen können – durch Technik und Organisation – schon im Einzelfall gesamtgesellschaftliche Bedeutung erlangen.

Kriminologie

Die Kriminologie untersucht die Erscheinungsformen der strafbaren Handlung und ihre Ursachen. Sie bemüht sich um Aufklärung der nicht in den amtlichen Statistiken festgehaltenen Kriminalität, des so genannten Dunkelfeldes, und prüft das Anzeigeverhalten der Bevölkerung als der wichtigsten Informationsquelle der Strafjustiz. Sie untersucht weiterhin die Einschätzung von Verbrechen und Strafe in der Allgemeinheit. Schließlich beschäftigt sich die Kriminologie mit den kriminalrechtlichen Sanktionsmitteln und Behandlungs­methoden und ihrem Einfluss auf den Verurteilten und seine Familie sowie mit der Wirkung der Strafrechts­pfle­ge auf das Rechtsbewusstsein der Bevölkerung. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt weiterhin auch die Untersuchung der Instanzen der Strafjustiz selbst (Polizei, Staatsanwaltschaft, Gericht und Strafvollzugsbehörden) und das Verhältnis des Bürgers zu ihnen, unabhängig davon, ob er als Anzeigender, Beschuldigter, Verurteilter, Zeuge, Verletzter oder einfach als Publikum in Erscheinung tritt.

Diese Arbeit erfolgt am Institut in der kriminologischen Abteilung (Leitung: Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Albrecht). Sie arbeitet nicht länderreferats-, sondern projektbezogen, da die kriminologischen Phänomene vorwiegend länderübergreifend analysiert werden müssen. Die Abteilung widmet sich überwiegend den fünf Schwer­punkt­themen: "Strafverfahren und Sanktionen im Wandel", "Gefährliche Straftäter", "Innere Sicherheit, organisierte Kriminalität, Terrorismus – gesellschaftliche Wahrnehmungen und Reaktionen", "Kriminalität, sozialer Kontext und sozialer Wandel" und "Kriminalpolitik und rechtsstaatliche Entwicklung in Übergangsgesellschaften".

  • Geändert am: 30.09.2016
  • Top