Support of Young Researchers

Most of the doctoral students who are researching at the Institute are supervised by the directors of the Institute in disciplines relevant to its criminal legal and criminological research (law, sociology, psychology). Cooperation with the law faculty of the University of Freiburg in the training of young researchers has been strengthened since 2007 by the International Max Planck Research School for Comparative Criminal Law (IMPRS-CC) and since 2008 by the International Max Planck Research School on Retaliation, Mediation and Punishment (REMEP).

As a rule, doctoral students at the MPI earn a Dr. jur. (Doctor of Laws). This is true not only of the students in the Department of Criminal Law but of those in the Department of Criminology as well. This is because criminology is part of the law faculty at almost all German universities – including the University of Freiburg. Students with research concentrations in other areas may earn their doctorates from other faculties, such as humanities or behavioral sciences.

Admission at the University of Freiburg is not mandatory. Doctoral students who are admitted at another German university can also be supervised, provided that one of the student’s advisors has a Prüfungsrecht (right to examine) at that university. Doctoral students admitted at foreign universities can also be supervised – if the Institute cooperates with that university for the purposes of supporting young researchers.

As a rule, projects carried out by young researchers in the Department of Criminal Law fit within the department’s new research program. Hence, the focuses are on the territorial and functional limits of criminal law, primarily in the areas of cybercrime, white-collar crime, organized crime, and terrorism. The topics are examined on the basis of national legal systems, European criminal law, and international criminal law – most with a comparative legal approach. In the Department of Criminology, young researchers focus on the following areas: “Criminal Sanctions,” “Organized Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security,” and “Empirical Research on Criminal Procedure.” In the future, responsibility for the training of young researchers will be transferred more and more to the two Research Schools led by the Institute.

  • Last update: 16 July 2015
  • Top

Nachwuchsförderung

Die am Institut forschenden Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden werden insbesondere von den Direktoren des Instituts in den für die strafrechtliche und kriminologische Forschung wesentlichen Disziplinen betreut (Rechtswissenschaften, Soziologie, Psychologie). Die gute Zusammenarbeit mit der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Freiburg bei der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses wird seit 2007 durch die Internationale Max Planck Research School für Strafrechtsvergleichung (IMPRS-CC) und seit 2008 weiter durch die International Max Planck Research School on Retaliation, Mediation and Punishment (REMEP) vertieft.

Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden promovieren in der Regel zum Dr. jur. Dies gilt nicht nur für die strafrechtliche Forschungsabteilung, sondern auch für die kriminologische Abteilung, da an der Universität Freiburg – wie an fast allen deutschen Universitäten – die Kriminologie zur Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät gehört. Abhängig von dem jeweiligen akademischen Abschluss können sie aber auch an der Philosophischen und der Verhaltenswissenschaftlichen Fakultät promovieren.

Eine Zulassung an der Universität Freiburg ist nicht zwingend erforderlich. So können auch Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler mit einer Zulassung an anderen deutschen Universitäten betreut werden, wenn eine der Betreuungspersonen dort ein Prüfungsrecht hat. Schließlich ist auch eine Zulassung an einer ausländischen Universität möglich, mit der das Institut zum Zweck der Nachwuchsförderung kooperiert.

Die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses ist in der strafrechtlichen Abteilung grundsätzlich in das neue strafrechtliche Forschungsprogramm eingebunden. Die Schwerpunkte liegen deswegen auf den territorialen und funktionalen Grenzen des Strafrechts, vor allem in den Deliktsbereichen des Cybercrime, der Wirtschaftskriminalität, der organisierten Kriminalität und des Terrorismus. Die Themenstellungen werden dabei anhand der nationalen Rechtsordnungen sowie anhand des europäischen Strafrechts und des Völkerstrafrechts – zu einem großen Teil rechtsvergleichend – behandelt. In der kriminologischen Abteilung liegen die Forschungsschwerpunkte „strafrechtliche Sanktionen“, „Organisierte Kriminalität, Terrorismus und Innere Sicherheit“ sowie „empirische Strafverfahrensforschung“ im Mittelpunkt der Nachwuchsförderung. In Zukunft wird die Nachwuchsausbildung zunehmend in die beiden vom Institut geleiteten Research Schools verlagert.

  • Geändert am: 01.12.2015
  • Top