Topical Sections

In contrast to the Country Sections, the Topical Sections do not concentrate on a particular country or group of countries but rather on a special topical issue. At present, the Institute has the following four Topical Sections:

  • The section "European Criminal Law" deals primarily with the law of the European Union, law enforcement and judicial cooperation in criminal matters, the law of the Council of Europe, the European Convention on Human Rights, and the case law of the European Court of Human Rights.
  • The section International and Transnational Criminal Law deals with international law, including the international criminal courts. Additional issues covered include the national prosecution of international crimes, the application of national criminal law to extraterritorial offenses, extradition, and mutual judicial assistance, as well as obstacles to prosecution under international criminal law.
  • In the section Information Law and Legal Informatics, the criminal law issues of the new media are examined, particularly the field pertaining to crimes committed via the Internet (“cybercrime”) and resulting national and international rules. The Section further concentrates on the issue of specific applications for lawyers, e.g., in the area of criminal law e-learning.
  • The section Law and Medicine concentrates on legal issues posed by medicine, with a particular focus on those with connections to criminal law.
  • Last update: 12 July 2016
  • Top

Sachreferate

Sachreferate arbeiten – anders als die Länderreferate – nicht in Bezug auf ein bestimmtes Land oder eine Ländergruppe, sondern hinsichtlich eines besonderen Sachproblems. Gegenwärtig arbeiten am Institut die folgenden vier Sachreferate:

  • Das Referat Europäisches Strafrecht beschäftigt sich insbesondere mit dem Europäischen Gemeinschaftsrecht, der polizeilichen und justiziellen Zusammenarbeiten in Strafsachen, dem Recht des Europarates, der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention sowie der Rechtsprechung des Europäischen Gerichtshofs für Menschenrechte.
  • Das Referat Internationales Strafrecht und Völkerstrafrecht setzt sich mit dem Völkerstrafrecht einschließlich den internationalen Strafgerichtshöfen auseinander. Weiterhin werden Fragen der nationalen Strafverfolgung völkerrechtlicher Verbrechen, des Strafanwendungsrechts, der Auslieferung und Rechtshilfe sowie der völkerrechtlichen Strafverfolgungshindernisse behandelt.
  • Im Referat Informationsrecht und Rechtsinformatik werden die strafrechtlichen Fragen der neuen Medien untersucht. Insbesondere der Bereich der über das Internet begangenen Delikte ("Cybercrime") und die hierzu ergangenen nationalen und internationalen Regelungen werden untersucht. Daneben beschäftigt sich das Referat auch mit der Frage von spezifischen Anwendungen für Juristen, z.B. im Bereich des strafrechtlichen E-Learnings.
  • Das Referat Recht und Medizin arbeitet an Rechtsfragen, die durch die Medizin aufgeworfen werden, und zwar schwerpunktmäßig an solchen, die strafrechtliche Bezüge aufweisen, ohne sich aber darauf zu beschränken.
  • Geändert am: 12.07.2016
  • Top